Secure – Novel Marine Resources for Food Security and Food Safety

Image caption Research areas in the SECURE project


In January 2020 UiT The Arctic University of Norway funded this project entitled Novel Marine Resources for Food Security and Food Safety (SECURE). This interdisciplinary project proposes an innovative approach to enable a significant addition of sustainable marine raw material for a growing population. The project will contribute to various policy dialogues and produce briefs on policy and governance issues. This will lead to a lasting impact on society through the introduction of new species, as well as increased consumer trust and confidence in new species, and seafood in general.  

The project's overall objective is:

  • To develop knowledge enabling sustainable food security and safety by a multidisciplinary approach based on novel marine low trophic level resources, cardiometabolic health and legal framework.

In SECURE several interdisciplinary work packages (WP) will conduct research on the legal framework regarding the harvesting of new species, the composition of nutrients and contaminants in these raw materials, their effects on the oral and gut microbiome, on cardiometabolic diseases and atherosclerosis and the link between gut microbiota and atherosclerosis. PET imaging will provide an important novel non-invasive tool to study the development of atherosclerotic plaque and enhance the accuracy of atherosclerotic lesion characterization. The knowledge will be ranked against traditional seafood items to enable targeted dietary advice. A stakeholder from the industry will also provide knowledge and experience with regulations and contribute with feedback throughout the project.

Overview over work-packages in the SECURE-project 

Project members:


Edel O. Elvevoll (Principal investigator)
Hanne Bjerknes
Jayalal K Jayanthan
Tone Friis Aune
Mathilde Daasvatn Morel
Martin Skipperud Skarpeid
Sandra Huber
Ingrid Sofie Norberg-Schulz Hagen
Andreas Langdal
Margherita Paola Poto
Guro Kristine Edvinsen
Rune Sundset
Ida-Johanne Jensen
Mari Johannessen Walquist
Montserrat Martin-Armas
Ingvild Ulrikke Jakobsen
Karl-Erik Eilertsen
Monica Alterskjær Sundset
Ragnar Ludvig Olsen